Campers, Politics, and Farm Life Rank High in Renaissance Musings Top Ten Postings

Just did a quick analysis of hits on my blog postings—the initial intent was to see what appeared to be the most read topic to guide future blogs. I confess I was somewhat surprised. The following top ten blogs (or tightly related group of blogs) scored the most hits over the past eight months. Eighty articles have been posted since January. I did not include the “About, “Home,” or “Contents” pages in the rankings.

Note: For any of these posts, it is hard to tell if they were actually read, and if so, if the reader found it interesting or not. Clicking the “Like” button would add another bit of data to analyze. Comments and “Likes” are always appreciated.

The Riverside RV Model 177 'White Water" Retro shortly after delivery this year.

The Riverside RV Model 177 ‘White Water” Retro shortly after delivery this year.

1. The posting with the single most “hits” is the Riverside RV Camper review—nearly 800 hits. Perhaps, since we belong to a large camping organization (more than 5,000 strong) that should not be a surprise. Note, there was a follow-up review that may also be of interest.

2. The second most frequently hit set of four articles were blogs about the recent Grundy County government elections at a combined number of 700 hits. Since this was a very local-targeted set of postings, I am pleased that the community took notice of these articles.

3. I am pleased that my Open Message to Conservatives (and Liberals too) was the third ranked single posting. It was one of my earlier postings and it continues to draw attention. To me, it is the single most import topic I have posted since I launched my blog—perhaps not the most entertaining.

Mismatched tables and chairs, worn wood floors, original store shelving, all come together to create a comfortable dining experience for any occasion.

Mismatched tables and chairs, worn wood floors, original store shelving, all come together to create a comfortable dining experience for any occasion.

4. The article on the River Café in Normandy, Tennessee, ranked fourth in overall hits. That pleases me also, because not only is the food excellent, the people who own and operate the restaurant are good folks.

5. Many readers, again from the camping group I suspect, clicked on my account of our first trip in our new camper to Fall Creek Falls, Tennessee. I plan to do more such travel articles in the future.

To round out the top ten blog posts for the past eight months:

6. Coming in at number six, “Walking to Susie’s (Age 4)” was the highest ranked article in the “I Grew Up on a Farm in Virginia” (IGUOAFIV) category with 60 hits. As I have explained, that category is motivated by the desire to capture some of my growing-up years for my family, although I am happy to share them openly.

7. “From Fireflies in a Jar to a Disney Movie” (54 hits) relates one evening here in Tennessee when the neighboring pasture was alive with the most intense display of fireflies that I ever recall seeing.

8. My “Renaissance Musings Gallery” is ranked in eighth place, although I suspect many of these are return visitors to see what (or if) I have posted recently. I have not posted here as much as I had intended. Will try to do better.

The 1958 Dodge Coronet that was the car I drove that night.

The 1958 Dodge Coronet that was the car I drove that night.

9. The second ranked posting in the IGUOAFIV category is my adventures on “My First Night with the Car,” that describes why I was late getting home on that first night, and why I did NOT lose my driving privileges as my father had promised if I was late!

10. I am especially happy to see “Early Mornings-Opening Your Daily Canvas” in the top ten. That was posted just a week ago and has been well received, garnering not only tenth place, but the most comments and likes of any article to date. “Early Mornings – A Special Morning Canvas (c. 1954)” that is paired with this posting, has not gotten as much attention–it is a personal favorite.

Thanks to all of you who have taken a few minutes to check out my postings. You are welcome to offer comments, ideas, questions, or suggestions on any topic or communicate with me directly. The email address can be found on the “About” page.

This entry was posted in The View from Pelham and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Campers, Politics, and Farm Life Rank High in Renaissance Musings Top Ten Postings

  1. Pingback: Renaissance Musings Table of Contents | Renaissance Musings

Leave a Reply

