Time and Energy Management – Sort Of

Time (measured in fuel remaining) and energy management (roughly based on current speed and altitude) are the two keys for a combat pilot. They also apply to me as a blogger—sort of.

This time of year, and the next two weeks in particular, challenge my time and energy management. First, the weather has been absolutely gorgeous–perfect for all of those outside chores (and working on the tractor restoration).

To add to the “pressure,” we—well, my wife—is hosting a special event for members of her travel adventure group; Sisters on the Fly. We will have 10, 12, maybe more small vintage trailers parked around the front yard in two weeks. There will be Dutch oven cooking, trailer backing instruction and practice, a hayride to a picnic at a nearby cave, and I don’t know what all. All I know is that the place is supposed to be in tip-top shape for the event. Everything outdoors is my responsibility.

This view of a previous event is what the front yard will look like!

This view of a previous event is what the front yard will look like!

Everything is going well, except for getting rid of a large pile of wood left over from The Old Hickory Tree we had taken down in February. So, today, I re-stacked the wood neatly (sort of) out of the way (sort of). That took about two hours (and there is still more to go).

There is more than a pickup truck load of wood. Some of those logs are six feet long and weigh 200 pounds. I flipped each one end-over-end to get it down the hill and up on a neat (sort of) pile.

There is more than a pickup truck load of wood. Some of those logs are six feet long and weigh 200 pounds. I flipped each one end-over-end to get it down the hill and up on a neat (sort of) pile.

This was followed by an hour of mowing and another hour of edging. Oh, and two hours on the tractor restoration (the tractor has to be available for use when the campers are here).

Today, after everything else, I cleaned (with a wire brush)and painted the floor of the tractor. The fender and hardware to the left had already been repainted.

Today, after everything else, I cleaned (with a wire brush)and painted the floor of the tractor. The fender and hardware to the left had already been repainted.

Every day for the past few days, my To Do list has included a line that reads, “Post an article or photo on the blog.” But, by the time I get to the computer, most of my time and even more of my energy is spent.

About
A brief excuse for why I have not been blogging regularly: because of Time and Energy Management–Sort Of.

This entry was posted in The View from Pelham and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

