Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge – My Walkingstick

I really should respond to Cee’s Oddball Challenge more often. Most of what I have is sort of “oddball” compared to much of what I see here, e.g., turtles, snakes, birds, and now, insects.
Walkingstick-04

This walkingstick is a member of a large group of insects, the Order Phasmida. Walkingsticks survive by mimicking plant stems and leaves, thus reducing the threat of predation by animals that eat insects. Many species have adapted body parts that resemble leaves, etc., in addition to the stick shape.

Interestingly, one tropical species of walkingstick, similar in appearance to the one in the photo, is the longest insect on record, measuring more than 22 inches.

I cannot explain the little ringlet at the posterior end of the insect.

They feed on tree leaves, and in most cases actually stimulate tree growth through what amounts to pruning. It is possible, however, for an infestation of walking sticks to actually injure a tree. This is rare and poses no threat to forests.

For those who have to know. I believe the specimen in the photo is a Northern Walkingskick, Diapheromera femorata.

Posted in response to Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cee’s Oddball Photo Challenge – My Walkingstick

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    That bug is enough to creep me out. Great for odd balls though. 🙂

  2. resazbesaz says:

    I love these bugs! I used to find them outside our house all the time when i was a kid!

  3. I love it. Great find for the challenge or otherwise.

    janet

Leave a Reply

