What I Learned Today

I rarely pay much attention to FaceBook. I still do not understand how it is organized. I do know that many people like and use it, and I too use it to expand the audience for my blog. But I did not know how effective it is until today.

Over the past 18 months I have posted several hundred photos: some on their own; many associated with articles. Some of my photos are good—even having won recognitions in juried competitions.

I recently posted an image that was sent to me as part of an award. One condition of accepting the award was to include the graphic—a colorful image of a dragon and a maiden, apparently having some kind of heartfelt conversation.

Here is what I learned.
That image, which is not even mine, has garnered more “Likes” on FaceBook (i.e., “so-and-so liked your photo” in reference to the Dragon Loyalty Award) on my blog site than any single photograph of mine that I have posted. So what did I learn?

I have to find a dragon and a damsel to sit for a photograph!

(Yes, I know FB does not offer a “Like” for “Picture” or “graphic,” but as as they like to say these days, “Just sayin’!”

What I like:

Sunrises are my favorite time of day. This, for me, is a one-in-a-lifetime- shot-and I had the camera.

Sunrises are my favorite time of day. This, for me, is a one-in-a-lifetime- shot-and I had the camera.

Oyster Dredges in Bivalve, New Jersey--one of my favorite photos.

Oyster Dredges in Bivalve, New Jersey–one of my favorite photos.

Cape May, New Jersey and another interesting sunrise shot.

Cape May, New Jersey and another interesting sunrise shot.

What they like:
dragons-loyalty-award1

This is “tongue-in-cheek” folks, so don’t get you “knickers in a twist!” (But it is true!)

This entry was posted in The View from Pelham and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I Learned Today

  1. axelan says:

    Had to chuckle. Never thought about what it would appear I was liking when a “like” can be taken as related to multiple aspects of a post!

  2. merlinjr01 says:

    Thanks for the comment. Especially like the “chuckle.” That was the point

  3. thebluespade says:

    We’ve reached days in general society, where we not just have to be considerably careful how the cookie crumbles but where we must see to it how such is even seen crumbled. Genuine irony but is what anyone unaware may expect. A good instance can lead to chuckle but a bad one… err, shudder mentioning.

    Where blogging awards are related concern, I neither have a pressing regard for the circuit nor desire to take part with any of that. Something I’m sure varies among whatever disposition one does holds upon blog lauds.

    Congratulations still though.

Leave a Reply

