Monochrome Madness 2-45

Posted in Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness 2-45

Nostalgia

What the city of Oz might have looked like-in black and white-as Dorthy and friends approached.

Phildelphia, black and white,Delaware River, clouds

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Skyline viewed across the Delaware River

I am beginning to understand why I really like monochrome/black and white photos. My first camera (a Christmas gift while in the third grade) was a Brownie box camera that used 127-size film. I was only able to use black-and-white film because color developing cost too much–which my parents usually paid (but sometimes out of my allowance). Mother was an avid photographer, so was supportive of my interest. Even then, I would experiment with different photo subjects, angles, and lines. Anytime we went somewhere I took as many photos as my “budget” would allow. Taken in 2010, the Philadelphia skyline could just as easily have been taken more than 50 years ago with my Brownie as any other camera.

Thanks, Leanne, for sparking the nostalgia.

This entry was posted in I Grew up on a Virginia Farm, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monochrome Madness 2-45

  1. Awesome skyline in the background

Leave a Reply

