Bryce Canyon – Day 1

Day 9 – Travel as I Have Envisioned It Could Be

DSC_0009 (900x560)

Entering the Park

On my own, I planned to explore Bryce Canyon National Park. The Visit began at the park entrance, where again, my National Parks Senior Pass saved me the $30.00 entrance fee.

My first stop was the visitor’s center. This is routine for me, specifically to get my Passport stamped. If you are not familiar with it, the National Park Passport is an easy way to document visits to a variety of Nations Parks, Monuments, Historical Sites, and other properties in the National Parks System.

DSC_0011 (900x562)

The Visitor Center

Each Visitor Center has a Passport desk–it is simply a place where you will find a rubber cancellation stamp for that park with the current date. Open your passport to the proper section, stamp the date and you have a record of your visit. There may be other stamps available that may be used to apply an appropriate graphic in  your book.

In addition to the rubber stamps, the Park Service sells adhesive picture stamps of

Passport-1

The National Parks Passport–My record of where I have been–and when.

many of the more highly visited parks, and there is space in the passport for these stickers, too. The passport book costs $10.00. Cancellations are free. The stickers will cost approximately $2.00 for a single sticker, and about $5.00 for a sheet. Not all parks have their single stamp available, and I have bought several sheets–each sheet has a photo sticker of a park from each the nine regions–to get the stamp of the place I visited.

Stamping our passports and obtaining the appropriate stamp has become something of a ritual for us as we travel.

Also, while in the Visitor’s center I stocked up on picture postcards to send to family and friends with the satisfying intent to make them envious.

Passport-2

Entries in my Passport for Red Canyon and Grand Tetons. The Tetons photo stamp was from the sheet of stamps under the Passport.

I should point out that the Bryce Canyon Visitors Center also has several excellent displays, as well as video presentations that cover the history of the area, details of the geological forces that formed the canyon–and continue their work today. It is well worth the time to help understand how this amazing and unique geological phenomenon was created.

After 30 minutes in the Visitor’s Center it was time to see the park. There are several “entrances” to viewing points along the canyon. The first, closest, and the first to have its parking areas filled is Sunrise Point. I arrived there about 10:00 am, and the areas was closed because all parking was filled. I made a note to return, earlier, the next day, and drove on to Sunset Point, and then in succession, Inspiration Point and Bryce Point, spending a couple of hours at each location.

DSC_0039 (900x602)

View from the Rim of the Canyon

I ventured along several of the less strenuous trails, but there was still plenty to see.

Rather that tell you about what I saw, I will let the photo gallery give you a visual tour of my first day in the park.

Previous: Setting Up Camp

Next: Bryce Canyon, Day 2

Gallery

 

This entry was posted in Renaissance Bucket List, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

